Forward, into the future

So: nearly a year since I last updated this blog. I think I have to accept that when it comes to blogging, I am never going to become one of these prolific sewers who posts a completed garment every week with classy photos and detailed construction notes.

For one thing, my own sewing output over the last year hasn’t been very impressive: things unfinished, things unstarted, things I hate. For another, I don’t particularly want a million photos of myself on the internet, especially right now, while I’m dealing with some issues with my own body. For a third, I’m still struggling to find a routine in my life that allows me to sew and to write and to read and to exercise and to try and have something resembling a social life and still fit in the all-essential staring into space while drinking wine time that I need to recover from my job every weekend.

And, to be honest, that sort of blogger is not what I want to be. I am not an expert sewer: no one wants to hear my tips and tricks for making anything, many of which were themselves taken from other blogs. I’m not fanatical about fit, and I learn slowly, by trial and error, rather than by perfecting one single garment: no one wants to read every week about my two-inch-FBA-plus-wide-back-and-straight-shoulders adjustment that I do for literally *every* Big 4 pattern.

But I still feel a need to write about sewing: I don’t know anyone in real life who is interested in sewing, and it’s something I think about all the time. I love the sewing blogosphere, and want to contribute to it, not just consume. And my favourite sewing blogs are often the ones where the actual sewing is not the only thing on offer: blogs like My Vintage Inspiration, Dolly Clackett, and Seam Ripped.

So: no more guilt. But also: no more frustration at not writing. I spend a lot of time mulling things over and ideas for blogposts are constantly bubbling up but failing to be written. I want to be a part of the online sewing community; more selfishly, I want to talk about ME and my MANY SEWING THOUGHTS. So I need to find a balance between guiltily feeling that I can’t post until I have immaculate, glowing photos, and not posting at all.

I’m going to kick this off with a list of what I have made in the last year  and how it all turned out (next post) and my plans for sewing during what remains of the winter (the post-after-that). And I’m also going to try to comment more on other people’s blogs and be a more active part of the community. BUT! This is my guarantee that my next post won’t be in a year’s time, but within a month. I bet you just can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

